keeper

listening to:
mood:

2001-08-11 - 5:39 p.m.

"She's a keeper."

Where did this saying come from? I have been objectified as a keeper a few times in my life (its always been under endearing circumstances, of course) and to tell you the truth, when i hear it, i want to run the other way. Even though it is meant to be a compliment, it occurred to me that the casual use of this saying is not questioned often enough.

You keep things, not people.

However, in the literal sense, my sister brought to my attention that, yes, in fact, i am a keeper. i literally keep a lot of stuff. My recent travels have allowed for a new influx of pants, shirts, maps, souvenirs, ticket stubs, etc. I have become overwhelmed with all of the excess 'baggage.'

I decided, on this beautiful saturday, i would do some cleaning out, some paring down if you will. I am feeling quite burdened by the lovely consumeristic american way.

Don't you love all of your stuff though? Every time I do a spring cleaning, i wind up justifying the retention of certain things for the most absurd reasons. Now, really, how many small black tee shirts do you need?


previous / next

RIP red barber - 7:00 p.m. , 2011-04-13

past presents - 12:39 p.m. , 2009-11-03

Careful Caretaking - 8:32 a.m. , 2009-04-18

Oh Nine! - 10:46 a.m. , 2009-02-03

Just Click Here - 2:18 p.m. , 2008-08-20