work-in

listening to: styrofoam
mood: sweet and sour

2005-06-13 - 10:03 p.m.

"can i work in with you?"

i haven't been to the gym in many months. i got very put off by the bad attitudes and the layout of the floor at the bodies in motion. i decided i wouldn't go there anymore. my membership commitment expired last month, but i actually have to go in to cancel, so they will stop charging my credit card. however, the broken foot denies me that trip. lately though, i have been having dreams about the new gym next to the new office. the spectrum club. complete with olympic pool and basketball courts... not that i play basketball, but the pure thought of the vastness of this unseen gym, gets me, well, curious. do i join another gym for lunchtime workouts? yes, i think i will.
this week i am back at home, and it feels pretty good. being in my own bed and bath and kitchen etc. feeling that semblance of individuality and independence.
i had a rather upsetting day regarding the foot. i got a second opinion on my x-rays, and the second doctor, my friend, let me know, in his conservative manner, that 1. i should have a stress test (and- refuse the shot for pain, cause the shot is just as painful as the actual test) 2. if i was his daughter, he wouldn't let me go on the sailing trip- cause there are plenty of trips in life to have, but i only have one right foot. 3. there is still a 5% chance that i will need surgery and a screw. (i agree with the screw part- not the surgery end). i am taking my 1800 miligrams of calcium and vitamin D everyday. i am hoping, wishing, praying that i will be in a boot in two weeks time and all this will pass- but has the battle just begun? why does the universe not want me to go on this trip? freak hurricane on the horizon? geez, i really don't know. i am wondering if there are other things in the world i can do to make this foot heal quicker, cause it feels like eternity and gives me a bitter feeling in my stomach. can i just accept that this is the predicament? can i just feel calm about what has occurred in all of it's bad timing? "great timing, karen." work-in. in between other people's workout. other people's time schedule, humbly ask and give and thank.

previous / next

RIP red barber - 7:00 p.m. , 2011-04-13

past presents - 12:39 p.m. , 2009-11-03

Careful Caretaking - 8:32 a.m. , 2009-04-18

Oh Nine! - 10:46 a.m. , 2009-02-03

Just Click Here - 2:18 p.m. , 2008-08-20