change lady

listening to: the go find.
mood: neither here nor there

2005-05-14 - 11:57 p.m.

"excuse me miss, can you spare some extra change?" the homeless guy outside of vons asks�-- "no, im sorry." I walk past.

the florescent lights in vons at 11pm on a Saturday night are kind of depressing. Just make my way to the half and half and the beer isle and get out of here. Sheesh. Down the bread isle, to the back of the store. Right in front of me is the red meat section and some very tattooed 20 something is peering the top shelf filets. Levis and a black tee shirt. Some sort of leather bound watch and adidas on his feet. I make a sharp right turn, b-line to dairy. There it is. May 27th is the expiration date, so are the other two in the front row. I restrain myself from going one row back for the second back container. I try to keep myself in check over that little compulsive behavior. Back 3 isles to the beer lane� what will it be tonight? The Kirin was very good a couple weeks back� yes, the Kirin Ichiban will do just fine.

I jumped in lane 7. There was one woman, nothing on the counter, digging through her large oversized 11 year old black leather purse (A purse, yes, no way a hand bag), looking for exact change. As she was looking, a group of youngsters, piled on a huge bottle of SKYY vodka, ginger ale and a bottle of chambord on the counter � �mmm candy berry martinis, that sounds lovely� went through my head. The lady was buying, the two boys with her just laughed and giggled and I think I heard the word cool about 7 times. I turned back to focus on where the change lady was at. She handed her final pennies over to the over anxious checker. He dropped the change in the drawer and pulled my stuff over the scanner in one foul swoop. The change lady hadn�t even collected her things together by the time my total was up. �Oh yea, that friggin club card, where is that thing?� I thought to myself. As I swiped my ever evil club card through the kiosk, he said. �ID please.� What? Ok, find the license�. There it is. Good to go. On my way out to the car I saw the change lady and her big black purse hanging from her dangly body. Her hair tied up in some pseudo pony tail, wispy and wavy in the hippy fashion order. The only thing that I noticed she bought was 2 bags of Friskies cat food. Oh man, how depressing. The woman in front of me in Vons at 1120 at night is buying cat food for her probably many cats, living alone in some hippy house in the hills. I vow not to go to Vons on a Saturday night again unless I am very intoxicated from drinking far too many candy berry martinis.


previous / next

RIP red barber - 7:00 p.m. , 2011-04-13

past presents - 12:39 p.m. , 2009-11-03

Careful Caretaking - 8:32 a.m. , 2009-04-18

Oh Nine! - 10:46 a.m. , 2009-02-03

Just Click Here - 2:18 p.m. , 2008-08-20