jypu

listening to:
mood:

2003-07-30 - 7:10 p.m.

and the jim yoshii pile up came through town, not really my town, but a town45 miles east of my town... on a tuesday night at a place called 51 buckingham in pomona. i raced my sister and i out to the show, where all of 10 people showed up. we looked at artwork, and listened to the opening acts... then the pile up came on stage and played 7 songs i had never heard before. I started to wonder... "is this the band i listen to, singing at the top of my lungs in the car ride to work up the 405 in the morning? or is it a twin brother of some sort. I wasn't really sure. I wasn't sure until they were done playing and i ran up to the stage as if at a radiohead show, to make a special request to the singer, "a special request," i said, and he replied, "i can't make any promises..." and i sputtered out under my quieted breath...."well, i don't know the name of the song, but it has the lyrics, 'honey, he does't love you...'" he smiled and instantly said, "oh yea, 3 three plus one... Guys, can we do 3+1?" the guitar player on stage left, furrowed his brow and shook his head 'no.' hmmmm, "im sorry, we can't do that one, but thanks for asking!"

i said, ok. and thought, they are the twin... and skipped back to the chair next to my sis. we laughed, and she said, "good job narfy."

it was a good time.

previous / next

RIP red barber - 7:00 p.m. , 2011-04-13

past presents - 12:39 p.m. , 2009-11-03

Careful Caretaking - 8:32 a.m. , 2009-04-18

Oh Nine! - 10:46 a.m. , 2009-02-03

Just Click Here - 2:18 p.m. , 2008-08-20