Thank you

listening to:
mood:

2004-09-25 - 10:13 a.m.

While trying to pull myself up by my bootstraps to get out of this hole that i have fallen in, i decided to write myself a note to put in my back pocket and read when things are tough. I thought i would try this solution prior to alternate methods. i'm going to share it with you.

Dear You,
I just wanted to take the time to express my great thanks to you after all this time. It's been just about 30 years that we have been truckin along in the world, and I think that you've done a pretty good job--- With, of course, the help, support and love of your family. Without them, this journey would have been much more challenging. You have gone from being a helpless infant, to toddler and through those weird years of public schools-- college, travel and career. You have made friends along the way, some for the time being and others for the long haul. I think you have learned a few things along the way, but I want you to remember a few key things to take with you as you continue into the next chapters:
- You can smoke cigarettes when you want to, just not too many.
- Always have a hobby and dedicate 2 hours a week or more to it.
- Workout as much as you possibly can- 3 days a week at minumum.
- all forms of drug use, prescription, etc. should be kept to a minimum.
- Take care of yourself first, everything will fall apart if you forget that.
- Laugh. A lot.
- Be confident with everything that you do.
- Show the people you love that you do love them.
- Write Thank you Notes.
- See live music. There is something magical live music does for your soul.
- Don't let anyone make you feel awful, ever.
- Wash your own car. Wash your own laundry.
- Plant flowers, take care of them and watch them grow.
- Get the point, the first time.
- If something is not working, step back, take a deep breath and try again- persistance pays off.
- Have a lot of sex. Everyday if possible- and switch it up for fun.

Remember, I always love you. Don't worry-- Mom says these are the best years of your life.

love,
me
xoxo

previous / next

RIP red barber - 7:00 p.m. , 2011-04-13

past presents - 12:39 p.m. , 2009-11-03

Careful Caretaking - 8:32 a.m. , 2009-04-18

Oh Nine! - 10:46 a.m. , 2009-02-03

Just Click Here - 2:18 p.m. , 2008-08-20