my mattress, the turkey

listening to: death cab for cutie - narrow stairs
mood: grateful

2008-06-26 - 10:10 p.m.

I had a very genuine moment tonight with my memories contained in my mattress. You see, my new mattress is being delivered tomorrow. Its been 11 years and 4 days that I have had my current mattress. That means this my mattress has seen all of my twenties and welcomed me into my thirties. Wow. I am actually overcome with a bit of saddess as I reflect and smile on the moments shared in that bed. Seems silly or weird or gross or old- but, I haven't really owned anything of that magnitude that carries so many vivid loving, passionate memmories, filled with pillow talks and no talks and smiles and sweat and new sheets, old sheets, fresh sheets.
a boyfriend for 1, 2 or almost 3 years or ones for just one night.
Sister staying the night, friend's taking a nap and sharing the pillows and dreaming... oh the dreaming. Peaceful and vivid and full and pushing me forward in and out of life and holding me so safely on a late sunday afternoon when I really don't want to go to work on those Monday mornings. Mattress pads and duvets and pillows came and went, but when it came down to it, my sturdy serta anniversary edition plush, was there. Soaked up tears and let me release, relax and just be still and silent. The bed. My mattress, aka the turkey.

previous / next

RIP red barber - 7:00 p.m. , 2011-04-13

past presents - 12:39 p.m. , 2009-11-03

Careful Caretaking - 8:32 a.m. , 2009-04-18

Oh Nine! - 10:46 a.m. , 2009-02-03

Just Click Here - 2:18 p.m. , 2008-08-20