a certain calm

listening to:
mood:

2001-08-23 - 7:11 a.m.

a certain calm came over me last night. after watching the movie, "Made," (in the theater, post-work,) which was actually entertaining, but Vince Vaughn's character made me physically uncomfortable... i drove around to three different stores to try to find the new faint album. I first went to the local record store...they seem to have everything, but no sign of the faint anywhere... "we can put it on order for you..." tsk, tsk, "thanks anyway..." i left.

Next, I thought, corporate america can't let me down, I went to Tower. grr, well at least they had a section for the faint, but had sold out of their only two copies of the cd they ordered... hmmf. "thanks... (you guys suck!)

I almost gave up, I stopped at the grocery store, bought coffee and half and half, and decided I could stop at one more shop to check and see if they had this now, ethereal cd. I drove up, and lo and behold, they were closed. CLOSED. grrr.

So i got home, felt defeated and knew i could order it online, i would just have to be patient. Its interesting when you want something, you wanted it yesterday and the now just becomes too late. I guess that's why patience is a virtue.

ahh, so yes the certain calm. (this week has been really rough...) the calm that came over me was when i looked on the kitchen counter, and there it was, a FedEx package all the way from Rhode Island. i smiled. i knew what it was, but had no comprehension for the depth.

Inside were two CD's. Compliations each filled with 568MB of music. Full length albums, ranging from live Modest Mouse to land of the loops to sparklehorse to creeper lagoon and cursive. Not to mention halo benders, bright eyes, tons of live built to spill, and Mogwai.

Me=happiness.

I threw them in the computer and just listened. I worked out some creative stuff in photoshop and went to bed around 3. calm.

previous / next

RIP red barber - 7:00 p.m. , 2011-04-13

past presents - 12:39 p.m. , 2009-11-03

Careful Caretaking - 8:32 a.m. , 2009-04-18

Oh Nine! - 10:46 a.m. , 2009-02-03

Just Click Here - 2:18 p.m. , 2008-08-20