one of those moments

listening to:
mood:

2001-09-04 - 8:56 p.m.

this morning i woke up refreshed from a long weekend; barbeques and movies, skateboarding, black rebel motorcycle club and the Getty. i made a strong cup of coffee, ahhh, it tasted so good. i ventured downstairs to our parking garage, put my key in lock, and turned, �weird� its unlocked�,� I turned it again, got inside, and looked at the dashboard; guts of wires hanging lifelessly from where the stereo had been. �Damn. Damn. Fuck!� Its gone. I let it go. �Okay. It�s a stereo, its been good to me. Now its gone, someone needs it more than I do. Okay. Damn.�

My roommate was standing by, �WHAT? What the hell?� I think his temper shot up and he looked at me and said, �How about October 1st?� He was referring to moving out. (oh god, all of this at this moment, I thought to myself.) hmm. i thought, okay, well, go to work and figure out the situation later. I proceeded.

I put the key in the ignition, clutch in, and I turned. nothing. not a light, not a sound. nothing. Well, the battery must be dead, something� I am not sure, I didn�t take the mechanic�s class for women in college as one of my electives. My roommate said he would give me a jump. He got out the cables, and placed them ever so carefully on the battery� negative, positive� he revved the engine, I turned the key again� nothing. Not a light, not a sound. �FUCK!�

So� now I have deducted, the battery has been disconnected or the internal cut off switch connected to the door locks has locked up. heh. They killed the door locks. dead. My car won�t start. My car won�t give me any sign of life. This isn�t the end of the world just one of those moments. One of those moments when you brain starts working in overdrive and everything around you begins to slow down. You look around and take a breath in, and ask yourself� �what next?� One of those moments when you wish you didn�t have to depend on technology in your everyday. One of the moments when you think you should cry. I didn�t cry, its actually been months since I have. (my sister says its unhealthy� how often do you cry?) Yes, so one of those moments.

thankfully, my roommate has another car. he let me borrow his for the day. i was at work on time. heh. Go figure, you think its one of those days you could stay in and try to figure it all out, the tow truck, the dealership, the phone calls and the bill. No. i went to work, mind spinning, trying to figure out the best way to solve the situation. i was on a different plane for a few hours. i wanted to scream, punch something, watch the person who killed my car choke on their lunch, asphyxiated, blue, helpless. i am sure i am not the first person they have done this to.

As the day continued, work wasn�t easy, a long weekend brings in strings of problems that must be answered immediately. Programs didn�t work, and bugs could not be replicated. grrr.

This is nothing to be so upset about, really. Almost everyone has been afflicted by a theft. It is something that goes around and around. I have my health and my family. Material items should not stir up so much frustration.

It will all be worked out and the good that will come out of this: my power steering hose will be replaced, its been leaking for a while now.


previous / next

RIP red barber - 7:00 p.m. , 2011-04-13

past presents - 12:39 p.m. , 2009-11-03

Careful Caretaking - 8:32 a.m. , 2009-04-18

Oh Nine! - 10:46 a.m. , 2009-02-03

Just Click Here - 2:18 p.m. , 2008-08-20