rollerskating

listening to:
mood:

2001-10-24 - 8:41 p.m.

well, i guess the pacifying saying is, "don't cry over spilled milk."

there are plans in the future that the ladies have been talking about for weeks. i think it has to do with the marketing of the puma roller-skates that are now widely available. that's right, you guessed.... a ladies session at the roller rink.

i was thinking about it today, envisioning what this would be like; renting old leather skates, smoothly coasting on the hardwood floors, laughing and making faces while 'macho man' plays during the 'singles only' song.

i recalled an instance when i was all of 6 years old. already well versed in the roller-skating rink routine. my father would take the 3 kids out on a snowy saturday afternoon, so my mom could have some personal time at home. one day, i was skating around, and in order to avoid the wreckage of a younger kid who had fallen in front of me, i tripped. i looked up and the woman who was behind me, couldn't stop in time. her skate drove right into my chin. she fell. it was a regular old pile up.

blood gushed from my chin, we got some napkins from the snack bar and continued to skate the rest of the session. once home, my mom took one look at me and gasped. needless to say, she took me into the hospital; i needed 8 stitches.


previous / next

RIP red barber - 7:00 p.m. , 2011-04-13

past presents - 12:39 p.m. , 2009-11-03

Careful Caretaking - 8:32 a.m. , 2009-04-18

Oh Nine! - 10:46 a.m. , 2009-02-03

Just Click Here - 2:18 p.m. , 2008-08-20